Update, and Thank You

Published February 21, 2022 by tinyhenshinsubs

Just wanted to give a quick little update to everyone who’s supported us over the years. I noticed recently that three of the DDL episodes had expired/incorrect links (eps 19, 46, and 47 specifically) and that error has been corrected.

As of right now, I’ll be honest, V2s are probably not gonna happen. You’ve probably all figured that out anyway, seeing as how it’s been the better part of a decade (holy shit!!) since I originally did these subs. Being able to focus on this project in my senior year of college was one of the ways that I managed to stay sane and relatively happy, because Magiranger is one of my favorite Super Sentai of all time and this was 100% a passion project. Some of you didn’t like some of my TL choices (tbf some of them were dumb), most of you didn’t like my OP typesetting (and you were right to do so), but I was young and self-taught and by god, I was gonna churn the whole thing out because I was having a lot of fun. I taught myself how to time, how to typeset, and how to do softsub .mkv encodes in order to churn all this out, and it was basically a one-person show for most of the ride.

Something I also want to touch on is the fact that a LOT more Super Sentai is starting to be distributed with English subtitles outside of Japan in an official capacity. Eventually, I have a feeling that Magiranger will be one of them. When that happens, I fully intend to support the official release in every capacity possible- which will include nuking the DDLs. The torrents will remain up because I don’t really have a choice in the matter, seeing as how an old friend with a very large server tower has been seeding them all this time and I don’t have a way to get in contact with him anymore to ask him to stop. This is NOT something that will be happening immediately. It will only happen if/when the show becomes available in English via official distribution channels.

Thank you all so very, very much. From the bottom of my heart. Every time I see someone say “I want to watch Magiranger” and someone responds with “check out tinyhenshin’s subs”, it makes me feel like I’m a part of something bigger than myself. Helping people discover one of my favorite shows is what I set out to do, and I’m glad that this site still gets hits every week even eight years down the line from when I started. This isn’t goodbye per-se, it’s just me saying “hey, y’all mean a lot to me” because I don’t think I ever actually expressed that. Keep watching Magiranger, and support official tokusatsu releases stateside.

-tinyhenshin

2 comments on “Update, and Thank You

  • No, thank _you_ for the 6-star subs! Even before OverTime existed, there was one: their name was tinyHenshin! Great subs, great show! I will continue to recommend tH subs! IMO, your translation choices were on point compared to the more literal subs we had at the time, TVN. The subs went with the mystic, magical element of the show so well!

    Hope everything’s okay with your personal life! Btw, do you still watch Sentai, or Toku in general? (Bcz Zenkai Magine was kinda on point)

    Like

    • Hate to break it to you, but OT was definitely around for at least 5-6 years before I bumbled onto the scene lmao but thank you for your kind words!

      I do still consume tokusatsu! I’ve been going back and watching a lot of Showa tokusatsu films, I recently watched Amemiya’s Hakaider movie and it made me want to go back and re-watch Garo from the beginning. I haven’t been keeping up with weeklies for a while though.

      Like

  • Leave a comment